Our goal: the planning and realisation of a Palliative Care Centre in Basel, across generations and with approximately 40 beds for patients and relatives.

How can I help?

News

“Mehr Leben” (More Life) series of events – dialogue on “Quality of life and Palliative Care

On October 19th we started a series of events with a concert and introductory talks in the Basel Minster. Almost 100 guests listened to welcome addresses by Minister Dr. Caroline Schröder Field, Basel Minster; Viola Käumlen, President ‘Mehr Leben’, Per Toussaint, Ref. for communication at Federal Association of Childrens Hospices Germany and Sarah Wyss, Grand Councillor of the Basel City Council. The Concert was performed by musicians of Symphony Orchestra Collegium Musicum Basel conducted by Maestro Johannes Schläfli: Cimarosa, Mozart, Grieg, Respighi.

During the following weeks other events, like talks about themes related to Palliative Care took place at the Basel Minster, Prediger Church and St. Peter Church in Basel. Our goal was to create awareness for our project.

The Association says 'Thank You' to all participants for a successful series of events!

Read more in the archive

The association “Mehr Leben” (more life) and the "allani Kinderhospiz Bern region" celebrate life with a moon torch

On Friday, August 17, 2018, the association celebrates the life of the children on the occasion of the 'children's life' charity run together with "allani Kinderhospiz Region Bern" and the German Federal Association of Children's Hospice e.V.

Media release of 17 August 2018

Well on track in the border triangle

The confirmed engagement of the Christoph Merian Foundation has provided our pioneer project with strong tailwind. We are also collaborating with Regio Basiliensis.

Media release of 9 July 2018

The project

The objective of palliative care
Palliative care comprises the holistic treatment of people of all ages suffering from an incurable or chronic illness.

Current situation
According to our calculations for the future, only half the requirement for palliative care for the Basel region and the whole of Northwestern Switzerland is currently covered. We believe that the demographic trend, above all the increasing share of persons aged over 80 in the population that is set to number 800,000 by 2040, calls for far-sighted advance planning.

There is in particular no Palliative Care Center for children and young people in either the border triangle or for that matter the whole of Switzerland in existence. If children suffer from a life-threatening illness and the family is confronted with the thought of losing them, there is a very special need for medical and psychological care.

The new Palliative Care Centre in Basel
The “Mehr Leben” association has set itself the target of constructing a Palliative Care Centre in Basel for patients of all generations and across national frontiers, bundling the existing human and professional resources and enabling better use of them to be made for persons affected in this region. The centre is geared entirely to the needs of palliative care, which differ greatly from normal hospital operations.

The centre offers patients the opportunity to say farewell in a supportive environment. It allows patients to spend their remaining life time in an atmosphere of peace, cared for and relieved of pain. Rooms can be individualised to create a feeling of being “at home”. Family members receive accommodation and close psychological support if required. The surroundings of the centre are laid out like a park and offer the opportunity to spend time outdoors amid nature.

The project focuses on needs-based support and an increase in well-being. The aim is to ease pain, allay fears and enable both patients and their families to part in dignity with a focus on end-of-life quality.

It is right and proper that affected persons of all ages and their families should be given more quality of life during the last stage in the patient’s life. We aim to turn this desire into reality.

The association

Our Board members:
Viola Käumlen, Co-President
Henri Gassler, Co-President
Sibylla Kämpf, member of the Board
Martin Wegmüller, member of the Board
Pierino Avoledo, member of the Board

We concentrate on developing the project and moving it forward. We will also be establishing and supporting a project group that will plan and accompany the construction, establishment and running of a new palliative care centre as a multi-generational institution.

Benefactors' Association will be founded shortly
The board has decided to set up a Benefactors' Assocation for present and future "Mehr Leben" supporters. We will keep you posted on the progress and post any helpful information on this site.

Support

The top priority at present is funding. Even the smallest contributions can help.

We are grateful for all assistance. If you would like to participate in the implementation of this project as a donor, sponsor or with an interest-free loan, please contact us and we will draw up a concept with you. No sum is too small! We offer you a platform for you or your company to get involved. If you wish to remain anonymous, we feel obliged to you and see this as an even greater incentive.

We wish to thank the following supporters:

Notre objectif: la planification et la réalisation d’un centre de soins palliatifs à Bâle. Un projet à vocation intergénérationnelle proposant environ 40 lits pour les patients et leurs proches.

Comment puis-je aider?

Actualités

Série de manifestations «Plus de vie» (Mehr Leben) – dialogue Qualité de vie et soins palliatifs

Dans le haut chœur de la cathédrale de Bâle le discours d’ouverture, Pasteur Dr. Caroline Schöder Field, paroisse de la cathédrale de Bâle ; Viola Käumlen, président de l’association ‘Mehr Leben’ ; Per Toussaint, chargé de la communication de l’Association des hospices pour enfants en Allemagne et de Madame Sarah Wyss, Conseillère Cantonale de Bâle suivi d'un Concert des musiciens du Collegium Musicum Basel sous la direction de Johannes Schläfli: Cimarosa, Mozart, Grieg, Respighi.

Dans les semaines du 19 octobre au 28 novembre 2018 un dialogue en images, en mots et en musique en faveur du nouveau centre de soins palliatifs intergénérationnel à Bâle – était organisée dans la cathédrale de Bâle, l’église des Prêcheurs et l’église Saint-Pierre de Bâle.

Un grand Merci à tous participants!

Plus dans les archives

L'association "Mehr Leben" et "allani Kinderhospiz Bern region" célèbrent la vie avec une torche de lune

Le vendredi 17 août 2018, l'association célèbre la vie à l'occasion du course de charité des enfants avec "Allani Kinderhospiz Region Bern" et l'Association fédérale allemande des hospices pour enfants e.V.

Communiqué de presse du 17 août 2018

Sur le chemin du Carrefour des trois pays

L’engagement confirmé de la Fondation Christoph Merian a donné un solide élan à notre projet pionnier.
Il existe par ailleurs une collaboration avec la Regio Basiliensis.

Communiqué de presse du 9 juillet 2018

Le projet

L’objectif des soins palliatifs
Le but des soins palliatifs est la prise en charge complète des personnes de tous âges souffrant d’une maladie incurable ou chronique et évolutive.

Situation actuelle
Selon nos calculs, les besoins en soins palliatifs de la région bâloise et de l’ensemble du nord de la Suisse sont couverts pour moitié seulement. Nous sommes convaincus que le développement démographique, notamment la part croissante de personnes âgées de plus de 80 ans ‒ elles seront 800 000 d’ici 2040 ‒ requiert une planification lucide.

Aux confins du Carrefour des trois pays mais également dans toute la Suisse, il manque un lieu pour les enfants et les jeunes. Lorsque des enfants souffrent d’une maladie mortelle et que la famille se retrouve confrontée à l’idée des adieux, une attention médicale et psychologique particulière s’impose.

Le nouveau centre de soins palliatifs à Bâle
L’association «Mehr Leben» s’est donné pour objectif de construire à Bâle un centre de soins palliatifs pour les patients de tous les âges et de regrouper les ressources personnelles et professionnelles existantes au-delà des frontières et de les rendre mieux exploitables pour les personnes de cette région. Le centre se concentre essentiellement sur les besoins des soins palliatifs. Ces derniers sont très différents des soins proposés dans les hôpitaux.

Le centre offre aux patients la possibilité de faire leurs adieux sans souffrance et dans un environnement apaisant. Les chambres peuvent être modifiées selon les souhaits des patients pour leur donner le sentiment d’être chez eux. Leurs proches bénéficient d’opportunités d’hébergement et, si besoin, d’un soutien psychologique approfondi. Les environs du centre seront aménagés comme un parc et donnent la possibilité de passer du temps dans la nature.

Un accompagnement correspondant aux besoins et l’augmentation du bien-être sont au centre des préoccupations. Il s’agit de soulager les douleurs, d’apaiser les craintes et de permettre au patient ainsi qu’à ses proches de faire leurs adieux dans la dignité et de se concentrer sur la «qualité des derniers jours».

Il est juste et bon d’offrir aux personnes touchées de tous âges et à leurs proches plus de qualité de vie dans cette dernière phase. Nous allons veiller à la réalisation de ce souhait.

L’association

Les membres du comité:
Viola Käumlen, co-présidente
Henri Gassler, co-président
Sibylla Kämpf, membre du comité
Martin Wegmüller, membre du comité
Pierino Avoledo, membre du comité

Nous nous concentrons sur le développement et l’avancée du projet. Par ailleurs, nous allons mettre en place et soutenir un groupe de projet qui planifiera la construction, l’aménagement et l’exploitation d’un nouveau centre de soins palliatifs sous forme de maison intergénérationnelle.

Association de patronage

Les membres du comité directeur ont décidé de créer une association de patronage pour les présents et futurs soutiens de l'association ‘Mehr Leben’. Dès que possible, nous vous tiendrons au courant des développements ultérieurs sur ce site-même. 

Soutenir

Le financement est actuellement notre principale priorité. Tous les montants, qu’ils soient grands ou petits, nous aident à avancer.

Chaque contribution est importante. Si vous souhaitez participer en tant que donateur, sponsor ou avec un prêt sans intérêts à la réalisation de ce projet, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter et nous élaborerons ensemble un concept. Aucun montant n’est trop petit! Nous vous proposons une plate-forme sur laquelle vous ou votre entreprise pouvez vous engager. Si vous souhaitez rester anonyme, ceci sera pour nous un devoir et source de motivation encore plus importante.

Nous remercions les soutiens suivants: